The Ties That Bond

Now, I realized that growing up in a home with a brother and three other sisters, is the most chaotic place where I feel I’m at peace. Through the years, I have learned to appreciate all the noises and scrambling. Now, I accepted the fact that although life with them is unpredictable, it is still the life I’d choose to have all over again.

When I was younger (way younger than today), I was thinking what it would be like if we’re only 2 or 3 in the family. But then every time I get to the part where I’m going to choose which sibling I would give up, I ended up just having them all anyway!

I remember a lot of squabbles among the five of us…a lot of petty quarrels over petty things…usually over television, over house chores, over toys and clothes, over every little thing we would unfortunately cross our paths with. You know how kids are…

And then…we all grew up! And…we still get into squabbles and petty quarrels! LOL! We only grew bigger but we basically still behave the same! We still fight, we still argue, and we still occasionally hate each other.

And now…we’ve come of age! Three among us already have their own family…yet…we still get into squabbles and petty quarrels!

Through the years we’re consistent in that area. We fight, we argue, we disagree! We got issues among us. There are things we hate about each other. But in spite of it all, we knew that we have something that will never measure up with the years of fighting! Something that still glues us together even during bad times. Something that although we seldom or rarely say outright, we’re sure that it’s there. Something we all hang on to when things really get tough, and nasty, and beyond reasoning.

I guess when you’re brothers and sisters, that’s what you do…you love them anyway…no matter what.
When you’re brothers and sisters, that’s how you stay with each other…you stand by them anyway…no matter what.
When you’re brothers and sisters, that’s the tie that bonds…you may not believe in what they do but you believe in what they are…no matter what.

(from an old blog of mine three years ago)

Leave a Reply

