It’s August and I Won’t Be Expecting Any Call

I was on my way home from Baguio when he called to say he’s in Boracay.  I can almost see him smiling from ear to ear.  He sounds like he’s having a great time. I’m happy that he’s happy.

That was years ago.

I wonder how many true friends an average person gets to have in a lifetime.

I don’t have a lot, but those few I have are for keeps, that’s for sure.

I lost one, a few years ago. I don’t know how long it’s been.

Now, I’m not sure if it’s a good thing but I feel like I can barely remember him.

Let me see…

I would always scold him about his drinking. He’s on the heavy side. He eats more than he plays basketball.

He would always have news about the ‘latest’ in our place. I love listening to his ‘updates’ which I would always tease him about and say that most our gossips, haha!

I would always remind him to be careful when riding his motorcycle. I trust his driving, it’s the other riders I don’t trust.

He has a habit of just showing up on our doorsteps.

I would always laugh at him, sometimes even when he’s not trying to be funny.

We would talk for hours, chatting as if we just saw each other yesterday when in fact, we haven’t seen each other in months.

I got mad at him one time. I think that was the only time.

I’ve seen him broken hearted, sadly quite a few times.

I’ve told him stuff I’ve never told anyone.

I never get to say goodbye.

Yeah. It’s been a while.

But I guess I still remember.

Quite clearly.

It’s August and I won’t be expecting any call.

Happy Birthday.

Leave a Reply

